1 in 88…not just numbers, PEOPLE

Unless you live in a Bubble somewhere, you have most likely heard by now that the CDC released data yesterday regarding Autism. For those of us walking this path, living it daily, the information prompted a mass post of ” This is my 1 in 88″ photos all over Facebook.

In Case you missed them, here are the numbers…

Data & Statistics

Prevalence

  • About 1 in 88 children has been identified with an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) according to estimates from CDC’s Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network. [Read article]
  • ASDs are reported to occur in all racial, ethinic, and socioeconomic groups. [Read article]
  • ASDs are almost 5 times more common among boys (1 in 54) than among girls (1 in 252). [Read article]
  • Studies in Asia, Europe, and North America have identified individuals with an ASD with an average prevalence of about 1%. A recent study in South Korea reported a prevalence of 2.6%. [Data table Adobe PDF file]
  • About 1 in 6 children in the U.S. had a developmental disability in 2006-2008, ranging from mild disabilities such as speech and language impairments to serious developmental disabilities, such as intellectual disabilities, cerebral palsy, and autism.  [Read article]

*Source: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/autism/data.html

This morning I woke up to find that two of my fellow Blogging Mommas had posted blogs on the subject…

http://adiaryofamom.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/not-just-numbers-people/

“But what matters more is that for every number – for every data point and every statistic – there is a face. And behind that face a life. And behind that life the lives of those who love them.
.
Not just numbers, PEOPLE.”
http://aimeevelazquez.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/1-in-88/“But I, like so many of my fellow autism Mamas who started to buzz about and post about and talk about last night, see more than just numbers.  I see the face of my baby boy.  I see his smile, his laugh, his everything that makes him uniquely him.I see our collective history intertwined.  I see his depth and his milestones and his grace and his challenges.  I see a montage of moments that I’ve collected and stored in my memory that captures my boy.  I see him.”

When I hear People talking about the numbers…about Autism, I see Faces….I see My own two children on the spectrum. I see my cousin, I see the daughter of another of my cousins, I see my friend’s little boy. I see several of the children my son plays Miracle League Baseball with. These are more than just numbers. They are PEOPLE. and behind each child, there is a family…loving them, guiding them, fighting for them at every twist and turn.

A while back I wrote a Post “This is Our Autism” in which I stated “Autism is love, Unconditional, deep love, stronger than any meltdown, bigger than any low. It is a love that keeps me going even on those days when I want to give up. It is a love that enables me to pick up the pieces, calm him down when he falls apart, to fight with doctors, to stand up for his rights at school. It is a love that is like nothing I have EVER known in my life.” If you have not read the full post, Please do so.

These are My 1 in 88…

and yes, EACH of them is 1 in 88….

Totally unique and wonderfully Different….

They are my heart. They are why I get out of bed each morning.

They are why I go to Countless IEP meetings, and drive 2 hours to a Doctors office.

 They are why I fight, and often don’t back down.

They are my Blessings, God’s Gifts to me.

They are my Children, and I Love them with every breath that I have.

To the rest of the world, They may see “1 in 88” but to us, these precious gifts are 1 in a 1,000,000,000,000,000,000.

5 thoughts on “1 in 88…not just numbers, PEOPLE

  1. Pingback: This is my 1 in 88 | that cynking feeling

  2. Pingback: Autism Awareness~30 Days of Snapshots 2012: Day 1 « Footprints in Time

  3. Aw, this became an extremely nice post. In idea I must place in writing similar to this additionally – taking time and actual effort to have a really good article… but exactly what do I say… I procrastinate alot through no indicates find a way to get something carried out.

Leave a Reply

