Love Overwhelms

I read the most beautiful Post this morning, written by a fellow Blogging Momma, a letter to her precious daughter. I encourage you to go read the post in it’s entirty….

As I read it, the paragraph at the end JUMPED out at me. This is what she wrote:

“Because nothing can separate you from my love. Not silence or distance. Not stimming, flopping, bolting. Not poop art. Not floods or any form of destruction. Not aggressions and regressions. Not lost opportunities. Not stares in public. Not a million school consults and IEP meetings and therapy appointments. Not broken dreams, not heartache. Not weakness or failure. Not the present or the future. Not highs or lows. Not trouble now or ever. Nothing can take you from my great love.”

It is based on a Bible Verse that has been one of my favorites since childhood that tells us  that nothing can separate us from God’s great love for us. Not anything in this world! Not the present or the future, not angels or demons, not height nor depth, not the worst sins, not hardship, not pain, not sorrow, not even death can do it.  There was a time when I thought that things I had done, mistakes I had made meant that God didn’t love me anymore, but I have grown to realize that God loves me, even though I am broken and flawed, even though I am not perfect.

Romans 8:38-39 (NIV) For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The quote above hit home for me because it put into words in such a beautiful way exactly how much I love my son, even as I am washing poop art off the walls, or when he decides to take off and wander, even as I sit through yet another IEP meeting, or when he has a meltdown in public, or when I spend days combating “He is just spoiled, High functioning autistics do not have meltdowns” or “He is ruining your life” speeches from family members. Even on days when he regresses and it seems nothing I do can draw him out , on the good days, and the worst of days, no matter how exhausted or emotionally drained I may feel, one thing remains, I Love my son.

This comparison of my love for my child to this verse of how deep God’s love is for me drove it all home for me in a powerful way. This Christmas, My gift has been an overwhelming realization of Love…God’s Love for me, My love for my husband, for my children….no matter what happens, no matter how hard things get, or how tired I feel…..Love is such a Powerful thing. Thank you Lord for reminding me….

 

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Ffootprintsintime.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost-new.php&jsref=&rnd=1324388894709

Leave a Reply

