when the sound of Laughter drowns out the rumble of Thunder!

It began like any other Monday. Quiet, Hot….triple digit Hot, the kids home on summer Vacation. Then the sky clouded over, and the Thunder began to rumble.  Not long after that, the power went out. I did what I usually do, and kicked into Dak meltdown prevention mode. Thunder storms wreak all kinds of Havoc on His senses, and the power going out usually only adds to his stress.

I gathered all three kids on the couch with the portable DVD players they got for Christmas, in hopes that watching movies would keep His mind off the storm that raged outside. This worked for about a half hour, then He decided that being between his sisters for that long, sitting still, was just to much. He wandered the house, pacing, and then disappeared into His room. I busied myself with household tasks. The power was out, so was nothing else to do. I stumbled across a box of toys I had put in storage months ago, and started to go through it. Buried in the bottom of the box was a gem, one of Dakota’s favorite toys when He was a toddler, a spiral race track with 2 small cars. I dug it out and headed towards His room and placed it on his train table. He ignored me at first, briefly eyeing the long lost toy before going back to lining up his toy animals on his bed. I shrugged, and left the room, the race track still sitting on the train table.

About 10 minutes later, I heard squeals of pure joy coming from Dak’s room. The beauty about the power being out is you can hear EVERYTHING! I tip-toed down the hall to peek in His door. What I saw brought a smile to my face…..

My Youngest two children, content, laughing, and having a meltdown free Power Outage during a Thunder storm! Thank the Lord for Portable DVD Players, re-discovering Old favorite Toys,  siblings, and MUCH needed Rain!!!

Leave a Reply

