A Tribute to Dad

Father’s Day, it has taken on a new meaning since I grew up and had kids of my own. Even more so raising a child on the Autsim Spectrum.

When I was a Kid, my Daddy was larger than life. My Daddy taught me about the value of hard work, God’s love, the power of prayer, Faith, and so much more.  Now that I am grown, He still teaches me important lessons about Prayer, Faith,God’s love, and about life.

 

 

The greatest gift I ever had
Came from God; I call him Dad!
~Author Unknown

I am blessed and thankful to have a Father who walks firmly in His Faith, and who sets a wonderful example for my children. I am thankful that he loves each of them for WHO they are, and that He sees past the disabilities and sees my son for the wonderful boy that he is.

This Father’s Day, my thoughts also turn to Both of my Grandfathers who have left this earth. I miss them both Very much.

They taught me about the Value of hard work, Love of History, and Nature, the Value of a smile or a kind word, the Importance of Family.

“Grandpa, tell me ’bout the good old days
Sometimes it feels like
This world’s gone crazy
Grandpa, take me back to yesterday
When the line between right and wrong
Didn’t seem so hazy


Did lovers really fall in love to stay
And stand beside each other come what may?
Was a promise really something people kept
Not just something they would say?
Did families really bow their heads to pray?
Did daddies really never go away?
Oh, Grandpa, tell me ’bout the good old days

Grandpa, everything is changing fast
We call it progress
But I just don’t know
And Grandpa, let’s wander back into the past
And paint me the picture
Of long ago

Did lovers really fall in love to stay
And stand beside each other come what may?
Was a promise really something people kept
Not just something they would say and then forget?
Did families really bow their heads to pray?
Did daddies really never go away?
Oh, Grandpa, tell me ’bout the good old days
Oh, Grandpa, tell me ’bout the good old days”

The Lessons they taught me live on, and I hope that I am passing them on to my children.

The other man in my life who needs mentioning on this special day is my Husband.

He is a wonderful loving Father to our three children. He has stood by my side and is my strength as we walk this parenting journey, this raising an autistic child road together.  There simply are not words to describe how deeply I love this man. My heart broke as I watched our son  push Him away, ignore that he even existed for many years. I saw the pain in his eyes as his only son appeared to want nothing to do with him. I heard the ache in his voice as he talked about baseball, and football, and motocross…those dreams a father has when he hears the words “It’s a boy”.

My heart swelled with joy when we discovered a wonderful program called the Miracle League, and I watched my husband and his boy, our son, playing Baseball together.

He is the one who taught the girls to ride their bikes, and to play softball. I love to watch him with our kids. Whether it is on the floor playing trains, Building Pine Derby Cars, or Science experiments, or outside playing ball, one of the greatest joys in my life is watching my husband and our children laugh and enjoy time together.

I remember when our oldest was born, and not even 3 minutes old, she reached up and grabbed her Daddy’s finger. It was love at first sight. As she enter her teen years, we begin a new chapter.

(There is a bigger story that goes with the above Photo, you can read it Here)

I am blessed to have such a loving Husband to walk this life with. I Am thankful that he is there to pick up the pieces when I fall apart. I Love that He understands that there are moments when I just need a break.

This Father’s day, my thoughts also turn to a friend who lost His Father recently to cancer, and to another friend who lost his son a year ago, on Father’s day. Cherish each moment , you never know when life may end, your world may change.

Happy Father’s Day to my Daddy, to my Husband, and to all the Dad’s out there. Remember children are a gift, a Blessing to be cherished and loved, and the best gift you can ever give them is your time. The best way to teach them is to lead by example.

“A man never stands as tall as when he kneels to help a child.”- Anonymous

Any man can be a father.  It takes someone special to be a dad.  ~Author Unknown

 

Leave a Reply

