Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 21

When I take a step back and look at the big picture, and look at my “Village”, There is a group of  people who I Can’t forget to mention, and that is MY Grandparents and my Husband’s Grandparents, my children’s GREAT-Grandparents. Our Grandfathers have all left this earth and their presence is greatly missed and there is one set of Great Grandparents that even I have never met as they left this earth long ago, but our Oldest is named after that great-Grandmother, but the lessons they taught us live on. My Grandmothers are my prayer warriors. Their prayers are without a doubt part of the reason my faith is as strong as it is today. Their prayers have carried me through some of the toughest battles in my life. I don’t live close by anymore, and can’t visit as often as I would like, but I know that they pray daily for me, for my husband,and for my children, because I can feel the strength.

“Did you ever know that you’re my hero,
and everything I would like to be?
I can fly higher than an eagle,
’cause you are the wind beneath my wings.

*BOTH Of my grandmother’s have that “wall of Photos” that goes back YEARS, the saying “If these walls could speak” the Photo wall speaks VOLUMES*

*Dak and my grandmother playing the piano together: One of my favorite moments EVER. Grandma is a retired music teacher, she taught me the love of music, and to see Dak reach out to her like this…I Cried*

*Grandma is the happiest when she has kids to fuss over!*

*Watching Dak play*

My Children are very blessed to have their Great-Grandparents in their lives! I Can’t close this Post without including my Husband’s Grandparents. My Oldest Daughter is the only one who met his Grandpa, but what a precious moment that was, even though she will never remember it. She was only 6 months old, and we were stationed in California at the time, and came home for a Visit. She let Grandpa Hold her long enough to sing “You are my sunshine” which he had sung to every grandchild. While we were home that visit, He passed away. I regret that I never got any photos of Him with my daughter, but I have that moment forever in my memory.

“You Are My Sunshine
My only sunshine.
You make me happy
When skies are grey.
You’ll never know, dear,
How much I love you.
Please don’t take my sunshine away “

Granny has been there for Birthdays, shopping trips, 6th Grade Graduation, Holidays. She is a constant support and presence in their lives, and they love her so.

*Christmas Cookies*

*6th Grade Graduation*

*Easter Treats*

To Our Grandparents…

You gave us Roots and Wings…

Leave a Reply

