Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 18

Autism…

It’s a word that entered my world long before my son was diagnosed…

It is something that has brought my family closer together…

We Gain strength by helping each other….

We share stories…

We share information….

We love without question…

Today’s Montage…

a Tale of three cousins on the spectrum….

Dak and Alex…

They share a love for Thomas the train….

They share a love for Larry Boy ….

They live 20+ hours apart, and only see each other every few years…

and yet its like they only saw each other yesterday…

my cousin Alex…

His dad is one of my greatest helps as I walk the Autism journey…

It truly helps to know I am not walking alone…

My three kids and my Cousin’s kids plus one extra…

My Cousin Craig and I were partners in crime when we were little…

High school came and we drifted apart…

who ever would have dreamed…

Hearing the words “Your son has Autism” and “Your Daughter has Aspergers” on the SAME day…

It has brought us close again….

I am so blessed to have the love and support of Family who truly “Gets it”…

because they walk the path WITH me…

*Feeding the fish*

2 thoughts on “Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 18

  1. It is so very wonderful that you have family around you that truly *get it* because they live on the same *road* as you. That is a true blessing in and of itself. To be called to respond to autism can only be a bit less trying with your flesh and blood there to walk along and cry and cheer and celebrate with you. Thank you for sharing.

    • They truly are a blessing, even though we live 20+ hours away from them…it helps to be able to pick up the phone and call, and have them understand the rollercoaster, to celebrate the little things, and help me through the downs, to bounce ideas off each other, and ride the rollercoaster together.

Leave a Reply

