Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 12

snapshots….memories forever frozen

Our dog Fang died today…

I don’t know how I can help Dak understand….

How can I help them to say goodbye?

Dak’s partner in crime…

*The love between a boy and His dog*

Sara’s best friend….

*Playing in the Leaves*

He was Shawna’s protector and friend….

*Story time*

*Silly Puppy-dog*

*Snuggles*

*Fang watching for Dak’s school bus*

My Youngest wrote Fang a letter today….

“Dear Fang,

I miss you Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why did you have to go so soon? I Love you Very Very Very Very Very Much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love,

Shawna

*Going for a walk*

We will miss you Fang, forever in our hearts.

“Time will ease your pain.
Life’s about changing;
…Nothing ever stays the same.”

And she said,
“How can I help you
To say goodbye?
It’s okay to hurt,
And it’s okay to cry.
Come, let me hold you
And I will try.
How can I help you
To say goodbye?”

~Lyrics from “How can I help you say Goodbye, by Patty Loveless~

5 thoughts on “Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 12

  1. Pingback: How do I help them to say Goodbye? | Footprints in Time

  2. You have my deepest sympathy. When our husky died several years ago, I printed pictures of each of us with him and wrote a message to him from each of us which we buried with his collar. I totally understand that he was a best friend to all of your children. I am sending you and your family prayers as I know you miss him.

    • Thank you Sue. I am working on gathering up almost 12 years of Photos of us with Fang and the kids are going to help me put together a scrapbook. They are having a really hard time with this and it breaks my heart, but I also know that death is not something I can shield them from. Learning how to grieve is an important part of life, I just don’t know how to help them through this, especially when Dak still really doesn’t understand that Fang is never coming back.

  3. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: December 21,2011 « Footprints in Time

  4. Pingback: Autism Awareness~30 Days of Snapshots 2012: Day 3 « Footprints in Time

Leave a Reply

