Autism Does Not Define My son

As I was wandering through the  vast village of fellow Mommy bloggers, reading all the stories, and posts on what Autism Awareness month means to them, I came across a poem that JUMPED off the screen at me.  I am in the process of  a month long series of posts of what Autism Awareness means to me. I have LONG said Autism does NOT define my son, and am grateful to the people in his life who see PAST the diagnosis, who see the CHILD. He is a Precious Gift, He is Different but NOT Less.  He was Fearfully and wonderfully made, and God does NOT make Mistakes!

Psalm 139: 13,14

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

*********************************************************

Autism Does Not Define Me – A Poem by Karen Krejcha

(Posted with permission)
Accept me for who I am,
Understand that I may not always get what you’re saying.
Trust that God has me here for a reason;
I am an amazing human being.
Socially, I might not fit in with society’s expectations.
Mentoring can help me along the way.

Don’t forget that I have feelings even if I don’t express them.
Opportunities for my happiness are indeed possible.
Educate and encourage me without prejudice.
Show patience and kindness along the way.

Never give up trying to “get” me
Ostracizing me will just shut me down.
Take time to try and come into my world.

Defining me as my diagnosis ignores my essence and best qualities.
Emerging talents may arise when you least expect them.
Friendship and honesty is valued to me more than you can imagine.
I am in need of love and tenderness too.
Never let me give up, especially when you see my mood shift.
Expect the unexpected and watch me enrich your life.

Many people will read this and I pray millions will act.
Embrace and empower someone with Autism today.

Autism Does Not Define Me

Written 4/8/2010, copyright 2010, Karen Krejcha
Karen’s Blog:  Aspierations – Come as you are… Let your light shine!

Karen’s original Posting of the Poem

4 thoughts on “Autism Does Not Define My son

  1. Hi Rachel,
    Thank you so much for posting my poem on your blog. I am so glad it spoke to you!

    What a great picture of your son! 🙂 We have a Hot Wheels fan in our home too. Amazing what fun those cars can bring… unless you step on one barefoot!

    Warm wishes and blessings to you and your family!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

