Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 6

Today is a special day. You see, today is the 15th anniversary of the day I married the man of my dreams, the love of my life. There were those who said we wouldn’t make it this far. At first that was because we were BOTH Active duty Military, and the divorce rates for Military marriages are staggering, even more so for Dual Military. Then, when our son was diagnosed with Autism, we started hearing THOSE Divorce statistics. It has not been an easy road, we have had our ups and downs.  Marraige is work, It is a COMMITMENT! Sure there may be moments when we don’t “Like” each other, but we LOVE each other, and made a commitment to each other.

That being said, today’s collection of photos are dedicated to my Husband. I can remember watching Him struggle with our son’s diagnosis. I remember the pain in His eyes when our son would not Hug him, and usually ignored Him. I saw my son meltdown when Daddy was gone for training, or other Military related stuff. He DID want Daddy around, got upset when Daddy was gone, just didn’t show it well.

Alot has happened between the moment we heard “You son has Autism” and today as I sit typing this post. I will let the photos speak for themselves.

Happy Anniversary my love,

You continue to be my rock , my best friend, and my defender as we walk this journey. I love You.

To Fatherhood…..

*Before we knew…12 years ago*

 

*The door begins to open…Letting Daddy in*

*They formed an annual Birthday ritual…*

*Sitting still for Daddy to paint His face up as a clown for Halloween*

(This is a HUGE accomplishment on SO Many levels!!)

*This is a Favorite of mine*

*BASEBALL!!!!*

*Learning to Ride a Bike*

*a Father’s Love, a son’s Smile*

I could not get through the bad days without my husband by my side. He knows when to step in so I can take a break. He sees my tears, and understands the heartache. He comforts me when I have had a day where I feel as though nothing I do helps, nothing I do can stop the meltdowns. He reminds me that it is ok, that we are in this together. He swept me off my feet 15 years ago, and I can honestly say that the bumps and mountains in our road have made our love stronger…..

This song says it ALL….

*~*”….And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re went sailing in the storm
And it was harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise was for
That’s what the promise is for

So when I lose my way, find me
When I lose loves chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith
to the end of all my days
when I forget my name, remind me…”*~*

One thought on “Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 6

Leave a Reply

