Autism Awareness~30 Days of snapshots: Day 4

snapshots, moments frozen in time…Precious memories…

This is day Four in our Journey into what Autism Awareness means to me.

If you would like to start at the beginning…..

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

When it comes to Autism Awareness, there is a group of people on the front lines,  in some ways even more so than the parents. If not handled with care and love, they often feel forgotten, can easily become targets for meltdowns, and usually do not understand what is happening at first. Today we celebrate the Siblings.

My own two Daughters love and accept their brother, and all his quirks. They fiercely defend Him to their peers, laugh with Him, explain in their own way to their friends. They can do this because my husband and I make sure to set aside quality time JUST for them. We do everything we can to ensure they have lives OUTSIDE of Autism, that his limits do not limit them.

*We Love you sissy!*

*Reading big brother a story*

*The Munchkin Train*

*Volunteering to be a Miracle League Buddy*

*We LOVE Ball season!!*

*My Artist*

*My Princess*

*who needs a hug?*

*Ready to Bake some Cookies*

In Celebrating their Individuality, encouraging their dreams, while teaching them to solve conflicts, showing them how to accept each other, and allowing them a safe place to grow, we grant siblings the tools they need to accept and love their brother without resentment ( I hope). Sure, they fight, but ALL siblings do, but the sound of all three of them giggling is the most beautiful sound in the world. Sometimes I think my girl understand their brother better than I do, and I hope and pray that they know I am doing the best that I can to ensure they ALL know I love them, and that they do not feel lost in the storms Autism can bring into our life. God blessed me with Three  Beautiful Priceless Treasures, and It is with HIS strength that I do the best I can to be a good mother to ALL three of them.

I leave you with one Final thought until next time….This is a Post I wrote about ALL three of my children not too long ago….beautiful-priceless-treasures

Leave a Reply

