Happy Birthday US Marines!

This week is a Big week in my house. Today is the Marine Corps Birthday, and Tomorrow is Veteran’s Day. With my Husband and I Both having served in the Marines, Our kids Know that November 10th is a Big Day, and they Know the importance of Veteran’s Day. My 8 year old went out the door to school this morning singing the Marines Hymn, no surprise to me really, as that has been her Lullaby since she was an infant, the child Will NOT sleep until I sing it!

As I was listening to the Marines Hymn on Youtube, and updating my facebook status, my son, who is home today due to having a Dr’s apt, comes up behind me, says “start it over mom” and starts jumping up and down “Yay Marines!!” “Happy Birthday Marines!!”

For me, the Marine Corps is more than just a branch of the US Armed Forces. The Marine Corps “Issued me” my husband while in MOS school ( any of you who know our story will get that reference :p) The Marine Corps forever changed my life. It was in Boot Camp, when all else seemed lot and I was ready to give up…when God met me and I stopped running. I am forever thankful to my drill instructors who would not let me quit, would not let me give up on myself.

My Fellow Marines are my family, some of my closest friends are ones I met while  I was serving. a couple of them I knew growing up, one of whom is my brother not just because of the Corps but because He is my kid brother. To this day, when I think of my “inner circle” , the people who have been there for me in even the darkest of times, almost everyone on that exclusive list is a Marine, or has ties to the Corps.  When I think about the Marine Corps, I see very specific Faces, every one of them dear to me , and precious memories tied to that list of names. We are the Few , The Proud, The Marines, Once a Marine Always a Marine. Semper Fideles. No Matter the miles that seperate us, each of you who has left footprints on my heart will remain forever my Marine Corps Family.

Saepius Exertus….Semper Fidelis….Frater Infinitas
Often Tested …Always Faithful… Brothers Forever.

From the halls of Montezuma,
To the shores of Tripoli;
We fight our country’s battles
In the air, on land, and sea;
First to fight for right and freedom
And to keep our honor clean;
We are proud to claim the title
Of United States Marine.

Our flag’s unfurled to every breeze
From the dawn to setting sun;
We have fought in every clime and place
Where we could take a gun;
In the snow of far-off northern lands
And in sunny tropic scenes;
You will find us always on the job
The United States Marines.

Here’s health to you and to our Corps
Which we are proud to serve;
In many a strife we’ve fought for life
And have never lost our nerve;
If the Army and the Navy
Ever look on Heaven’s scenes;
They will find the streets are guarded
By United States Marines.


Leave a Reply

