Musical Memories

I can hardly believe it’s October again, much less that This weekend is Halloween weekend….the end of October! This year….2010…is sure flying by fast! It seems the older I get the faster time seems to go by as I watch my children grow. Today is one of those flashback kind of days….triggered by, of course, Music. It is amazing how certain songs just take me back to different times in my life. Some of the memories are amazing and good….others are heartbreaking , sad, and hurt too much and get stuffed back onto that shelf I try to avoid in my mind.

There are so many songs …”Locomotion” triggers memories of Jr. High, Roller skating, and First Boyfriend jitters…you know the song….”everyone is doing a Brand new Dance now…come on Baby, do the Locomotion”

Anything from Amy Grant’s “early years” transports me straight back to the most awkward years of my life…..It was Amy Grant, and Michael W. Smith, and Steven Curtis Chapman that got me through some of the toughest times of my teen years. Songs like “Friends” and “Stay for a While” and “Angels watching Over me”….”Wise up” and Old Man’s Rubble” are forever marked in the pages of my life’s story and road marks on what was a bumpy, and at times dangerous journey.

I lost sight of my “Friends” Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith for a phase, and sunk into rebellion, spiraling out of control to the tune of  Alice Cooper, Mega death, Pantera…there was a point where the more my mom disliked the band, the more I listened to it ( not Proud of that, just stating how Music is linked to the dark times in my life as well as to the good ones)

First dance Memories to the tune of Def Leppard, “Pour some Sugar on me” High school moments brought to you courtesy of Air supply, the Bangles, Debbie Gibson, Tiffani ,oh and lets not forget Billy Ray Cyrus “Achy Breaky Heart”…and I could go on and on, but you get the idea. I listened to ( and still do) Many different Genre’s of music.

So you see, Music, for me is like a road map of my life. and that brings me back to the month of October. The year was 1995. I was a Marine, stationed in 29 Palms , California….the base the US Army deemed “Unfit for human life” and the Marines said ” Ohhh Perfcet for training location!” I had just gotten out of a Really BAD 3 year relationship, and was still hurting…the pain was still raw, the walls around my heart MILES high. It was Halloween, and I was out at “Crazy 8’s” a local pool hall off base, playing pool with some friends ( well really I was watching from a corner…was sort of on a date, and it was His friends). That night was the beginning of a 15 year journey that brings me all the way up to today. You see the guy I was on a “date” with is now my husband. The music we WORE the jukebox out with that night…well there were four songs. “Momma I’m Coming Home” by Ozzy Osborn, “My Home’s in Alabama” by Alabama, “Hotel California” by the Eagles, and “Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynard Skynard.

and that is how, with some coaxing, Patience, Great Music, and God’s timing, a Farm girl from NY found herself in the middle of the deserts of California dancing to “Sweet Home Alabama” on a first date with a Marine from the cities of Alabama 15 years ago…and 15 years, and three kids later, Happily Married, and still dancing with Him to “Sweet Home Alabama”.

Leave a Reply

