Definitions of Beauty

I have been doing a lot of thinking lately about my two daughters, about all the messages society throws at them about beauty, and appearance, and about what the Bible tells us about the same thing, and about all the mistakes, and as a result pain, I made, and dealt with as a teenager.  I Hope and pray that my girls will never have to feel the pain or abuse, that they will not fall into the trap of trying to change Who they are to please another.  The Bible says that we are each fearfully and wonderfully made.

The Dictionary defines Beauty as…

beau·ty

–noun, plural -ties.

1.the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations (as shape, color, sound, etc.), a meaningful design or pattern, or something else (as a personality in which high spiritual qualities are manifest).

2.a beautiful person, esp. a woman.

3.a beautiful thing, as a work of art or a building.

4.Often, beauties. something that is beautiful in nature or in some natural or artificial environment.

5.an individually pleasing or beautiful quality; grace; charm: a vivid blue area that is the one real beauty of the painting.

6.Informal . a particular advantage: One of the beauties of this medicine is the freedom from aftereffects.

7.(usually used ironically) something extraordinary: My sunburn was a real beauty.

8.something excellent of its kind: My old car was a beauty.

Society views Beauty from the outside…everywhere we look there are ads for cosmetic surgery, Make-up, Hair products, You name it, and in case you have not noticed, they will put almost ANYTHING on TV these days. When I was a Teenager, I fell into the whole “Thin is beautiful” mindset, and went through an anorexic Phase. I would go weeks without eating, then eat one HUGE meal, then go back to not eating. I Hated looking in the Mirror, didn’t like anything about how I looked from the outside. My self esteem got worse when I found myself in an abusive relationship for three years.

Now that I am older, and have two daughter’s of my own, I find myself praying for guidance, for a way to protect them from falling into the same hurtful cycles I found myself in as a teenager. It has taken many years for my emotional scars to heal, and I never could have gotten where I am today without the prayers of my family, and the patience and love of my Husband.

The Bible teaches us a Different look at Beauty from what Society tells us.  Beauty is not about how nice your hair looks, or how skinny you are. We should not be so concerned with our outward appearance, But Rather learn to be happy with the way God made us.

Psalm 139:13,14

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

God made each of us Special, and We are each made in His image. God does not make mistakes, so how can we say that we are too fat, too skinny, that our nose is not right, that our eyes are the wrong color, ect ect….
1 Peter 3: 3-5a
3Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. 4Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 5For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful….
When we Put our Faith in God, and our hearts are in tune with HIM, a beauty shines through that is like no other. Some of the most beautiful people I know seem to almost glow, and it is because God’s love literally radiates from them. Even in the middle of life’s trials, when things that would send most people into a tailspin. I have a dear friend, a Spiritual mentor, who recently lost her son in a tragic car accident. I know her heart is broken, and her grief is overwhelming at times, and yet, through God’s Grace, His love flows through her, and I can see HIS beauty shining though her. What a tremendous testimony to God’s love, that even in the midst of sorrow, HE is with her. It Shows!!!

Proverbs 31:30 (New International Version)

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

so, what then should be our definition of beauty? should it be what the world defines beauty as? Do we strive to have designer clothes, lots of jewelry, fancy shoes, or do we focus on our relationship with God? How do You define beauty?


Leave a Reply

