Let them Be Little

I Usually just Upload photos of My kids to my albums on Facebook so that my Family members and my Military Family scattered all over the globe can see them….sometimes with a Caption or short description, but the ones I took last night deserve more than that. My oldest was on the computer, so I was in my room watching Underdog with my youngest. I had already tucked Dak into bed three times, as His Meds should have kicked in any minute. Rather than stay in bed, He came running through the house, into my room completely lost in a gigglefit. No matter how I fussed he just would not sit quietly and watch the movie, and my youngest was getting rather frustrated she could not hear the TV.

I left the room for a few minutes to refill my glass of water and when I returned, Both of my younger children were on my bed, Giggling wildly. Shawna had decided that the best course of action to get her brother to stop running about was to sit on Him. My first thought was how dangerous it was…that they were both going to topple OFF the bed into a heap on the floor….but as I watched them interact like “Normal” siblings I decided the best course of action was to keep my mouth shut, enjoy the moment and Grab my Camera…..

They did eventually end up on the floor…not because they fell, but because when she tried to convince him he not only needed to sit still…but be quiet as well…He moved to the floor…and she followed him….

The song “Let them Be Little” Originally written and sung by Billy Dean, remade by Lonestar came to mind as I watched them tussle and giggle…..

I can remember when you fit in the palm of my hand.
You felt so good in it; no bigger than a minute.
How it amazes me you’re changin’ with every blink.
Faster than a flower blooms, they grow up all too soon.

So let them be little,
‘Cause they’re only that way for a while.
Give ’em hope, give them praise,
Give them love every day.
Let ’em cry, let ’em giggle,
Let ’em sleep in the middle,
Oh, but let them be little.

I never felt so much in one little tender touch.
I live for those kisses, your prayers an’ your wishes.
An’ now you’re teachin’ me how only a child can see.
Tonight, while we’re on our knees, all I ask is:

Please, let them be little,
‘Cause they’re only that way for a while.
Give them hope, give them praise,
Give them love every day.
Let ’em cry, let ’em giggle,
Let ’em sleep in the middle,
Oh, but let them be little.

The so innocent, precious soul:
You turn around, an’ it’s time to let them go.

So let them be little,
‘Cause they’re only that way for a while.
Give them hope, give ’em praise,
Give them love every day.
Let ’em cry, let ’em giggle,
Let them sleep in the middle,
Oh, but let them be little.

Let them be little.


I am thankful for nights like last night, glimpses at my son without the walls Autism puts up, to see him interacting with his little sister in a happy fun way. He adores her (NOW), and most days is really good with her, but when she was a baby….it was a different story entirely. Last night was one of those Happy belly laugh kind of nights I will cherish for years to come….one of those happy moments I can fall back on on the not so good days….

Cherish the good days, Count your Blessings, and let them be little!

Leave a Reply

