Remembering 9/11

‎9 years ago on 9/10/2001 , I got the news that Shawna was on her way into our lives, 9 years ago this week, the Lord brought my friend Kellie into my life, 9 years ago this week, her husband and Mine were in the field, 9 years ago today, the world stopped turning….so many memories, both good and Bad tied to this couple of days.

I will never forget how the day unfolded for me 9 years ago. My husband was away for Annual training for the National Guard. I was at home with our two children, and had just found out the day before that I was pregnant with our third. At 6am, the 2 little boys that I was babysitting at the time arrived, and like any other morning, I put in a Disney movie to watch with them until my own children woke up.  The Movie I chose that morning was Beauty and the Beast. The way my VCR worked, when the movie ended it automatically shut off, and this happened just in time to see the news coverage of the 1st plane hitting. I was in shock, and felt my heart stop, knees grow weak, but I had enough sense to know that at ages 4 and 6 the boys in my care didn’t need to be watching whatever was unfolding before me…My own 2 kids, 4 and 2, were awake by this point, so I shuffled the 4 kids off to play in the other room, then returned to the living room, collapsed to my knees and cried as I watched the events unfold.

in the midst of watching the horrible events unfold on TV, and watching 4 young children, my friend Kellie knocked on my door, and we sat watching, both of us waiting for the phone to ring…hoping to hear from our husbands in the field, Both of us wondering if they would be called up, the future had in the blink of an eye become more uncertain, our sense of security had been shattered, and as Military wives, we knew that the world as we knew it had changed forever.

in the past 9 years since 9-11, every year my husband has not been home , He has either been in the field, away at drill weekend, or activated for Hurricane relief ( Hurricane Katrina). I am Thankful and blessed that He has not, as of yet (*knocks on wood*) been deployed, however I will stand proud and strong if the call does come.  I have learned many things about myself through all this, and the memories, good and bad of that week 9 years ago have been forever written on my heart , tied with a yellow ribbon, and probably the most important lessons I learned are that God’s Grace is enough, and that just as I will never forget the events of that day, I also need to make sure my children also never forget.

That last lesson was driven home for me this past week by a friend of mine on Facebook through something she said, and a photo of her children, which I combined…..this was the outcome:

Tonight I was helping my youngest daughter with a homework assignment about what her name means, and as I remember back to the events surrounding the discovery that she was on her way into my life, I realize that her name is in fact, most fitting. Her name means “God’s Gracious Gift” and on September 10th, 2001, the day before the world stopped turning, God Gave me a reason to hope, a reason to look beyond the sorrow, a reason to look to Him and trust Him that out of the darkness, Light would shine again.

2 thoughts on “Remembering 9/11

  1. 🙂 What a beautiful post, thank you for sharing. You know, because my husband served three tours in Iraq, because my children have been told about 9/11 over and over and the importance of protecting our personal title of liberty at home, it took my 8 year old coming home from school and exclaiming that most of the kids in her class don’t know what 9/11 is to realize that unless we teach our children, share our personal story and ensure we do all we can to help them grasp the emotions, the tension, and the importance of that day- there is simply no way they could truly grasp why the world changed the way it did. It was her statement that lead to my quote above. We have been blessed with husbands who are willing to put everything on the line to protect our liberty in any way they can. Our lives, our childrens lives have been impacted in ways their friends will never understand. Yet every day I remind them how blessed we are because daddy came home. My husband lost several friends in the fight for freedom, undoubtedly we are still at risk for losing more. Even so, nothing is more sacred in this life, save the love of our heavenly father, than our freedom. 9.11.2001, terrorist tried to take it away from us, 9.12.2001, we began the fight to show them they have no chance. As parents, it is up to us to ensure the fire, passion, anger and pride that swell within our breast when we speak of the events that unfolded that week is felt and carried on by our own children so they too will never forget.

    🙂 Love you girlie

    • Beautifully said Sunny! It’s amazing how when we think we are teaching them, our children end up inspiring and teaching us isn’t it? due to the events that followed 9/11/2001, and the memorial services, and prayer vigils, my 8 year old still will not go to sleep at night until we sing God Bless the USA and the Marine’s Hymn, and Somewhere around here I have a heartwrenching poem I wrote after a conversation about the possibility of deployment with my then 4 ( now 13) year old, I will have to share it in another post! My kids( well my girls anyway…not sure how much Dak really understands…hate that non verbal barrier) will tell their friends …anyone that will listen for that matter, that their parents wear combat boots, that Veterans Day is NOT JUST a day off of school, understand all too well that daddy may get the call, and if he does he will go. Being Military Families, gives us a deeper sense of sacrifice and freedom, we have a perspective on things that so many will never see…or just plain take for granted.
      Blessed to call you friend! 🙂 love you Girlie

Leave a Reply

