Like Dandelion seeds in the wind

This may be a scattered collection of thoughts…or it may end up making complete sense, Not really sure, But I have a few thoughts that keep recurring and I need to get them out. The Youth Group at my church is currently studying the book ““Radical: Taking Back Your Faith From the American Dream.” by David Platt. Last night as I was sitting with the other Adults while the Youth were listening to the sermon, a few things came to mind. One was a Very Vivid Image, and the other was one line from a song.

First, The Image……

I saw in my mind a Dandelion, after it has turned to a white puffball of seeds, just waiting for a breeze to come along and scatter them. To many, a Dandelion is considered a weed. But I ask you this……Jesus called us to be like the least of these…He didn’t choose the most popular, the guy who “has it all together”..He chose the Tax Collector, the Fisherman, the broken hearted and the weak… the “weeds” of society…but I digress.

The thought that I got along with the image is that we are like Dandelion seeds and the Holy Spirit is the wind. When we are walking in God’s will, He will send us where He wants us. We may not see the outcome instantly, but when we are faithful to God’s will and PLANT the seeds, we need to then be willing to walk away and trust that the Holy Spirit will take care of the rest.

Matthew 28:19-20 (New International Version)

19Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

My Question then is this……will we Go willingly where God calls, or will we like Jonah, Go where we WANT to go because it’s “Easier”? Do we want God’s Blessing in our lives, or do we want to maintain control ourselves?

There has been a lot of talk lately about “why should America be spending money to help other countries like Haiti, or Pakistan, or China, when we are still recovering from Katrina, and have people in Nashville suffering from flooding? ” This kind of attitude saddens me because, when we become so selfish that we stop caring about others and withdraw into our own walls…we stop walking in God’s blessing. Yes, there are people here in America who are hurting, and they need to know of God’s love just as much as those in other countries….but that doesn’t mean Criticize and don’t support those who are called to foreign lands. Be open to God’s call, listen to that still small voice and be a willing vessel.

This brings me to the song I heard clearly…I can remember singing this as a child, but last night I could only hear ONE line of the song….”And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love They will know we are Christians by our love”


Leave a Reply

