School Uniforms….the answer to what?

warning…Parental Venting session in progress….

It’s that time of year again….My kids have 11 days of summer Vacation left. and This means the annual ritual of shopping for school supplies…Paper, Pens, Pencils, Crayons, Back-Packs, new shoes…you get the idea. To add to the madness, Our school district in all its knowledge has decided that ALL schools will be going to Uniforms This year…..I would Only be buying school clothes for One, not THREE if it were not for Uniforms…but nooo I get to add pants, and shirts, and belts, and in three different codes for three different schools no less.

What really bothers me though, is that I disagree with the Uniform concept. Not for any religious reasons……but because I work Hard to encourage my kids to be INDIVIDUALS…to maintain their creativity, use their imaginations….to not follow the crowd….I dont want three followers….the whole just because everyone else is wearing that doesnt mean you should be wont work anymore…..the schools have turned our kids into clones….and why? because Parents dont care enough to watch what their kids are wearing? because little suzy is getting picked on for not having designer jeans? because Teachers are tired of enforcing dress codes? probably all of the above……Parents as a whole have stopped caring what thier kids are doing….when I was in school the biggest problem was kids skipping school….now our kids have to worry about getting stabbed or shot AT SCHOOL! what changed? well….we took prayer out of school….we took the Pledge of allegiance and the National Anthem out……we took away art, and Band, and other creative outlets….( ok not in EVERY school) but as a general rule….what matters most to school boards is test scores…..not what the kids actually learn….it doesnt matter that kids are all INDIVIDUALS….and not EVERY kid is a good test taker…some are visual thinkers….all we care about anymore is keeping up with other countries…and that means better test scores….

we have become so fast paced….most homes…both parents work…or single parent families…well yeah of course the parent has to work…..nobody has time to raise their kids….so we let the schools do it…and they are turning our kids into non thinking test taking clones in matching clothes so that nobody gets picked on……guess what….newsflash…uniforms are NOT the answer to bullying…kids are going to establish a pecking order one way or another…used to be Jr. High….a few slams into lockers…fights in the hall….then we were friends…the pecking order was established…end of story…yeah, I was one of the ones getting pushed into the lockers..I was the new girl in school in 7th grade…Jr. High was not easy…but I survived…I learned problem solving…..and I didnt take a gun and shoot anyone.

when a 2nd grader doesn’t know why Veteran’s day is a Holiday….or a kindergartner doesn’t know the pledge of Allegiance…or the National Anthem…it makes me wonder…what are we really teaching our kids…..This summer, I took my kids home to Upstate NY to visit my parents….and while up there….we did a Revolutionary war History tour with my oldest daughter who is going into 8th grade…what shocked me was how little she knew about how our country was founded…things I remember learning in like 5th grade!!! Thankfully, as My mom said, My kids are fortunate to have parents who take the time to fill in what the schools DON’T teach…to enforce work ethic, Manners, and to encourage them to STILL be kids once in a while…your only a kid ONCE…you CANT go Back…EVER….why do we rush todays kids to grow up so fast? Can’t we let them enjoy their childhood and stop stressing them out over test scores and make learning FUN again?

some kids learn math by doing art…some through Music….some by following a recipe or a sewing Pattern…not all learn by boring repetition of addition Tables…you tell me Math is important…and I agree whole heartily….but there is more than one way to skin a cat…..which brings me back to uniforms….what will they really solve?  are we creating a new generation of people who can think for themselves? or a generation of people who will do whatever they are told, without question….without thinking? do we want our future leaders to be drones…..or leaders?

If you read this far….yeah I know…my thoughts are all over and random….this was more of a rant than anything…..but the fact is our education system is broken…..it has been for some time…we took a wrong turn when we shut God out…and things have been going downhill ever since……Our schools are where the foundation is laid for the future….and if the foundation is broken…..then God help us all…

Leave a Reply

