life,death, and the power of Prayer

Over the past days, I have started to write this…and each time have found the words evading me…..

On Weds. June 16,2010 at 2:47pm I received a Text message from my youngest brother who is an EMT saying that someone we know was badly injured in a Car wreck. being Human, a part of me immediately started to worry as my mind raced as to who it could be, but  also began to pray. I prayed for whoever it might be, and I began to pray for my brother. As I prayed, my sister called me and told me who ….David Camp, the Youngest son of the Pastors of my family’s church in Upstate NY, and a close friend of our Brother’s. It is no coincidence to me that BOTH of the young men I was praying for that Day are named David…One was fighting for His life…and one fighting to save His life. As I Prayed, the story of David and Goliath came to mind.

As things unfolded, I found myself struggling once again with being so far away from my family. The Dr’s were not very positive about David’s condition, and the prognosis was grim. My brother Dave started a group on facebook to pray for David, and I am quite certain that what happened was more than any of us ever expected. the number of people from all over the world praying for David and his family quickly climbed into the thousands. I found myself in the midst of a prayer chain that was stronger and more powerful than anything I had ever felt in my life.  We prayed, and David made it through the night weds night….the Dr’s had said he wouldn’t. We continued to press in and pray, standing united in prayer, friends and family and strangers alike, and David’s Vitals began to improve. As the deadline for when the Dr’s were going to turn off life support closed in, the prayers grew stronger…as did the number of people praying. It spread like wildfire.  As time marched on, I felt the overwhelming need to worship…and I poured my heart out in songs of praise to God, as I did, I shared the songs that spoke specifically to me for the battle we found ourselves in the midst of. A part of me wondered if, me being so far away…was what I was doing helping. Saturday night at about Midnight, my mom called me from NY…..asking me to pray, the Hospital had kicked out all but immediate family…..those covering the Family in comfort and worship all had to home. I stayed up till almost 3 am….talking to my mom online, praying and worshiping the Lord. a few of my mom’s friends were also up with us, and it was a beautiful time of worship….even though we were all in our own homes…connected only by the internet in the physical…there was a deeper, stronger connection, words can’t describe it, but I truly felt as though we were all in the same room, God met me that night…The power of His presence was overwhelming, and did not leave me as I went to bed. It stayed with me all day Sunday, and grew so strong, all I could do was praise Him.

Sunday night at 9pm EST, David’s heart stopped…..the number of people praying around the world had surpassed the 5,000 mark….even as David was going home to be with our Lord, we pressed in, united, believing for a Miracle. We held up the Family, praying for Peace, coming against a spirit of fear, and held the line. at 2 am, the Family released David into God’s loving arms, and while my heart sank, and my flesh cried out “Why God, didnt you hear our cries?” a still small voice said to me ” David IS fully Healed, and look around you…I am here with you, as I am in China, and Rwanda, and Tanzania, and Kuwait, and NY and all over the world…even as you all came together in prayer for David, and His family. Most of you have never met,  because you love me, I am with you and I will not leave you.” My heart was shattered, and I wept with my friends for the loss of their son, brother, Uncle, boyfriend, and friend, my friend…yet my spirit rejoiced as I saw David , with His heart of worship, dancing.

Monday brought many tears, and as I cried out to God in song, I found comfort. as I was working in the yard, and crying, singing worship songs, I looked up , and what I saw comforted me in a way that words can’t describe…..

throughout all this…the one cry of my heart that resounded the strongest was that God be glorified in this. The song that kept coming to mind was  “Shine Jesus Shine”

Lord the Light or Your Love is shining,
In the midst of the darkness shining,
Jesus light of the world shine upon us,
Set us free by the truth You now bring us,
Shine on me. Shine on me.

Shine Jesus shine
Fill this land with the Father’s glory
Blaze, Spirit blaze,
Set our hearts on fire
Flow, river flow
Flood the nations with grace and mercy
Send forth Your word
Lord and let there be light.

Lord I come to Your awesome presence,
From the shadows into Your radiance,
By the blood I may enter Your brightness,
Search me, try me, consume all my darkness,
Shine on me. Shine on me.

As we gaze on Your kindly brightness.
So our faces display Your likeness.
Ever changing from glory to glory,
Mirrored here may our lives tell Your story.
Shine on me. Shine on me.

 

I continue to lift the Camp family, and David’s girlfriend up to the Lord, may God surround them in His arms and comfort them trough this.

Isaiah 40:29-31 (New International Version)

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;

31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

I am still trying to come to an understanding of what happened…and while I don’t understand…I have come to the peace that God is in control…and to go back through and read the continued support on Facebo0k for David’s Family and friends from some 7,000+ people, family and strangers alike….the one song that comes to mind is…..

Rest in Peace, David Thomas Camp ~1989-2010

Thank you Lord for the lives, mine included, that David touched, both in life, and in death.  To You alone, oh God, be all the Glory and Honor and Praise. We Know that You are In control and that even though we may not understand, You have everything under control. We ask you to give the Camp Family a peace thatPasses all understanding, and to surround them with your love. Thank you Lord for hearing the cries of my heart, for providing for my Family’s needs, for surrounding those I love in your arms, for showing me that you will never leave me. You are awesome, and your love endures forever.Though I am shattered and broken, You are bigger than my pain, thank you for giving me the strength to hold the line and stand in the gap and for drawing me into a place of worship that is stronger than anything I have ever felt before in my life. I love you Lord! Shine Jesus SHINE. In Jesus Name we Pray. Amen

Psalm 57:9-11 (New International Version)

9 I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations; I will
sing of you among the peoples.

10 For great is your love,
reaching to the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

11Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let your glory be over all the earth.

7 thoughts on “life,death, and the power of Prayer

  1. I too struggled to come up with the right words to say when I wrote my blog. Your account of David’s struggle was very moving. He will truly be missed, but at the same time I anticipate a glorious reunion 🙂

    • I agree Cali. My brother, Aaron , shared your blog with me, and it blessed me. what happened as we all joined together, and continue to stand, holding the line….there just are no words for. David will be deeply missed, and ys, at the same time we can rest in the assurance that we will see him again one day.

  2. Pingback: Blessings and Love « Footprints

  3. Pingback: What if? | Footprints in Time

  4. Pingback: Only a Boy Named David « Footprints in Time

  5. Pingback: A Footprint….A ripple…what’s your impact? « Footprints in Time

Leave a Reply

