You are a Promise!

“You are a promise
You are a possibility
You are a promise with a capital “P”
You’re a great big bundle of potentiality
And if you listen, You’ll hear God’s voice
And if you’re tryin’, He’ll help you make the right choice
You are a promise to be anything God wants you to be.

You can go anywhere that He wants you to go
You can be anything He wants you to be
You can climb the high mountains
You can cross the wide sea
You’re a great big promise you see!

I am a promise
I am a possibility
I am a promise with a capital “P”
I am a great big bundle of potentiality
And I am learnin’ to hear God’s voice
And I am tryin’ to make the right choice
I’m a promise to be anything God wants me to be
Anything God wants me to be!”

~The Gaither Trio w/ the Sunday School Picnic Vol. 2~

Have had this song stuck in my head alot lately…been doing a lot of reading. and praying for my children, and how to help each of them realize Just how special they are…especially Dakota, that he is Different…but NOT less…God Made Him Special JUST the way He is…to My three children ” You are a Promise!”

The key to this whole Song though is we have to learn to Listen and hear God’s Voice! We Have to learn to be quiet at times so that we can hear what God is saying. When we wait upon the Lord, He renews Our strength…but when we try to do things on our own we stumble and fall, we grow weary.(Isaiah 40:30,31)

The Bible says :

“I can do everything THROUGH CHRIST who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

If a man remains in me and I in Him, he will bear much fruit;

APART FROM ME YOU CAN DO NOTHING. John 15:5

There is a Dialogue in the Gaither version of this song that I remember from my childhood that says it doesn’t matter where you live, what your name is, what you look like….short, tall, fat, skinny, holes in your tennis shoes, or freckles on your nose, it doesn’t matter, You can be exactly what God wants you to be.

Did God care that Moses was not a strong speaker? (Exodus 4:10 Moses says to the Lord, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant, I am slow of speech and tongue”)No, in fact, He says to Moses “Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go, I will help you speak and will teach you what to say. {Exodus 4: 11,12} When Moses put his trust not in his own ability to speak, but in God; God used Moses to set the Israelite free from Egypt.

When we take our eyes off Jesus, and start looking at the storms brewing around us in life, then much like Peter in Matthew 14: 22-36…we begin to sink….to drown. As long as Peter kept his eyes fixed on the Lord, He was able to walk on water.

Those excuses, I am too young…too old…I dont speak well….too shy…ect…God doesn’t want to hear those.  Paul tells Timothy in 1Timothy4:12 not to let anyone look down on him because he is young…when your faith is in the Lord, and your listening to His call on your life….HE will give you the strength, the ability to do what HE has called you to do…whether it’s to serve Him in a foreign land MILES from home…or to preach His word….to be a light in your school, to stand up for what is right when its not the cool thing to do, to walk away from the “everyone else is doing it” mentality. He is the Capital “P” in Promise…Jesus is our Promise…the Manifestation of God’s Love for Us…the Author and finisher of our faith.

My prayer is that I am able to guide my children, to teach them to wait upon the Lord, to listen to His plan for their lives.

Leave a Reply

