Mother’s day, TIME and Love

Mother’s day is this weekend….the stores are full of balloon’s, coffee mugs, Teddy bears, Cards, and other assorted trinkets with catchy sayings like “World’s Greatest Mom”……But is that REALLY what mom’s want on mother’s day? Another trinket to fill up space ….another Coffee cup to wash? Or would it mean more if one took the TIME to take mom out to eat….or made a homemade gift that comes from the heart made with  TIME and love?

I was walking through the grocery store late last night, looking at all the trinkets and thought to myself , that this is not what mother’s day is all about. Mom’s put in COUNTLESS Hours of their TIME….changing diapers, cooking meals, cleaning house, washing Laundry, running kids to various activities….all this often with nothing asked in return. somehow some $10.00 trinket bought as a last minute thought hardly seems right.

It took me until I had grown up and moved away from home to really appreciate all my mom did for me…and even then it was not really until I had children of my own that I truly understood. As I look back, I know now that even the things mom and I disagreed on when I was younger….she always had my best interest at heart……and as a Parent, sometimes making those decision that may be unpopular with your child are HARD to make, but necessary.

A mother’s love does not stop just because her child makes a mistake, or screams at the top of their teenage lungs a s a door slams “I HATE YOU!!!!” A Mother’s love does not fade when her children grow up , move away and start families of their own. A Mother gives of her heart, loves unconditionally,  gives her TIME to ensure her children have food to eat, clothes to wear. Mom’s spend countless hours entertaining a toddler, playing games of Tag, Hide and Seek, and Candy Land with an elementary age child. then something happens….that child enters teen years…and its no longer “Cool” to hang out with mom, yet mom does not stop pouring her time into their child….driving them to the mall….or to ball games.

This Mother’s day, I find myself 20+ hours away from my parents, and more grateful than ever for the TIME they put into raising me…..especially the untold hours of prayer. the unceasing prayers of my parents and grandparents is without a doubt why I am able to sit here today and type this.

Yesterday I found myself in an interesting spot…..my Mother-in-law was in the hospital….and had asked if I would go over to her house and cook a meal so that my husband’s step-father would have a home cooked dinner that night when he got home from the hospital. Initially I found myself thinking “but I have to go to the grocery store for my own family” and ” But I need to d some housework” and my “to do list” at home became a list of excuses, until a small voice in my head said “stop! You need to go do this, give your time and be a blessing” I hit my knees and asked for help…for a attitude adjustment and a servants heart. My husband brought me the truck, and off I went. I spent all morning in my Mother-in Law’s kitchen cooking and placed everything in the refrigerator. the thought ” what if this is not good enough?” went through my mind, but I fought back with a quiet cry ” let this be a blessing”. I got finished in time to go pick up my husband for lunch…..and didn’t hear any more about it the rest of the day. This morning as I was getting my kids ready for school, I got a phone call, it was my Mother-in-law. She was home from the hospital, had come home last night ( Praise the Lord!) and she thanked me numerous times for the delicious meal I had left in her refrigerator.

what would have happened if I had said no, I cant go, I have too much to do….if I had gone, but grumbled the entire time?  I don’t know….and I don’t want to know! The Bible says in 2 Corinthians 9:7 that God loves a Cheerful Giver…

2 Corinthians 9:6-15

6Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 7Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 8And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. 9As it is written:
“He has scattered abroad his gifts to the poor;
his righteousness endures forever.” 10Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. 11You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.

12This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God. 13Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else. 14And in their prayers for you their hearts will go out to you, because of the surpassing grace God has given you. 15Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!
I Will leave you with this thought….what can you do for the Mom(s) in your life this year that is a gift of your TIME? a Gift from the Heart….with Love, and thankfulness for all she does? Or will you rush into the store on your way to her house on Mother’s day and pick up another coffee mug that says “World’s greatest mom” on it?

Leave a Reply

