God uses the small and the weak

A Friend of Mine’s Little Girl asked her mom “how God makes us with all different color eyes, hair and skin if sand is only one color. Then she says…I know, food coloring! He makes a ball of sand in His hand and then adds food coloring as He molds us.”  Children see things differently than we adults do. This simple, Precious statement speaks volumes. The old Sunday school Hymn ” Jesus Loves the little children, ALL the Children of the world, Red and Yellow, Black and White, They are Precious in His sight, Jesus Loves the Little Children of the world”  teaches children at a very young age NOT to see skin color, or differences…..kids have to be taught to hate.

I have mentioned before…..God is moving…and He is using the children, the youth, the YOUNG in powerful ways! It was/is visible in Haiti….my sister saw it on her mission trip to Thailand….It was talked about today at church with Pastor and the team from India returning home.  I have seen it with my own eyes here in the states.

Today’s sermon was on how God doesn’t choose the wealthy person who has his/her act together….He chooses the weak, the poor, the deaf, and blind……the Bible is full of examples. Moses tried to use the excuse that He could not speak well….but God used Him to deliver the Isrealites out of Egypt. David was Just a Shepherd boy, but God saw a king. Esther was just a Jewish girl in a Foreign land, but God used her to save the Jewish people from death when Haman was plotting to have them all killed….

All of these people were able to accomplish great things because GOD worked through them….they put their faith in the Lord and listened.

so I ask you….are your eyes Open? because God IS Moving. To you something like hugging a friend who is hurting might seem soo small…but it might be exactly what they need….something as small as a child’s fist full of pennies may not LOOK like much, but like the 5 loaves and 5 fishes, God can take that simple gift given in love, and multiply it to do Great things.

the message that God uses the small and the weak jumps out at me for so many reasons……I am just a simple farmer’s daughter, mother of three…what can I do…often crosses my mind.  Then I look at my children….one is quiet, shy, doesn’t like to talk much, and making friends is hard for her…add in the fact that she is entering her teen years….a tough challenge in and of itself…but she has a giving heart…and is amazing with younger children. My son is Autistic…..words do not come easy for Him at all….he struggles in social situations, and gets overwhelmed easily. and my youngest…..is a social butterfly…LOTS of friends…and her hugs and smiles and laughter will brighten up the darkest of days. Each of my children is unique and precious, and God has blessed them EACH with their own gifts. I only pray that my best to guide them is enough…but I know that as long as My faith rests in the Lord, He will take the seeds I sow in their hearts and as long as they let Him, He will do great things.

Then I look back over my life….all the things I have done….the things I have been through and I am thankful for God’s Grace. Thankful that when He met me in Boot Camp in one of the darkest hours of my life ( see my post Beauty from Ashes), He did not leave me there…for He who began a good work in you is faithful to complete it. One of the scriptures read at Church today was ;

Colossians 1:13-14 (New International Version)

13For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14in whom we have redemption,the forgiveness of sins.

As I read it…This is how I Heard it in my heart13For he has rescued (Rachel) from the dominion of darkness and brought (Rachel) into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14in whom (she has) redemption,the forgiveness of sins.”

This means that by God’s Grace….I am a New creation, old things have passed away, He has washed the slate clean with the blood of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

One of my favorite songs from my Youth is:

GIVE THANKS
WITH A GRATEFUL HEART
GIVE THANKS
TO THE HOLY ONE
GIVE THANKS
FOR HE’S GIVEN
JESUS CHRIST, HIS SON

AND NOW LET THE WEAK SAY
I AM STRONG
LET THE POOR SAY
I AM RICH
BECAUSE OF WHAT
THE LORD HAS DONE
FOR US

GIVE THANKS…”

It’s a song that I still sing today, and often, a reminder that even when Life seems too hard, with God, even in my weakest moments, I am strong, not because of anything I do …but because HE is Strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (New International Version)

9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Life was never meant to be EASY….there will be hardships and trials….sometimes things just happen…not because we have done anything wrong…….but simply because that’s LIFE! God refines us as Jars of clay…in the fire…its how we grow…we have to die to self in order to live fully for Him…..and I know for a fact, I myself struggle with letting go of self..I find myself saying ” but that’s too hard” or  something to that effect…its only when I let go, and as another friend said , decide that I cant “Carry the milk alone” and turn to Jesus to take over and help me…its only then with His Grace, that my weakness becomes HIS Strength.

2 Corinthians 4:5-12 (New International Version)

5For we do not preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. 6For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,”made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.

7But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. 10We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. 12So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

As I have been reflecting this past week , looking back at where I have been, and where I am today, I have no other choice but to begin to bring a sacrifice of Praise unto the house of the Lord, for its God’s grace alone that has gotten me where I am today. Then I have to remember as the old Carman song says when Satan reminds me of my past…I just remind Him of his future.

Remember….The Lord works through the small….its by HIS Grace, not our own strength.

Leave a Reply

