Where were you?

8 years ago today, Tragedy gripped our country. Today, we remember the lives lost. We remember the acts of heroism. We remember.

8 years ago, I was at home with two small children, and had just found out the day before that I was expecting a third. My Husband was in North Alabama for his 2 weeks of Annual training. I was also babysitting two little boys who had arrived at my house at 6 am, so like any other day I ahd put in a Disney movie to keep them quiet till my own children woke up. when the movie ended the VCR shut off and the TV turned on, just as the first plane hit. I watched in disbelief, and yet I had enough sense, even in my initial state of shock, to know the boys didnt need to be watching what was unfolding before my eyes ( they were only 4, and 2) and by that time my own kids were awake, so i hustled them all in to play in the playroom.

I came back to the living room, and my knees buckled. I started to cry, and could not turn from the TV.
I have family who live and work in NYC, and I had no idea if they were ok. through my tears I heard a knock at the door, it was my friend Kellie. Her Husband was in Bobby’s unit, and she had been unable to reach him on the phone. We sat together, watching in horror, and trying to reach our husbands on the phone. Turns out, they had been pulled in from the field and placed on High alert.

today, 8 years later, the emotions of today are as strong as they were then….the shock, the horror, the tears….the overwhelming need to pray. my phone started to ring, Family calling asking if I had the TV on……and we started praying for those we knew who lived and worked in the areas of devastation, and for those we didnt know as well, for the families, the police and Firemen.

I also remember the unity of our nation…..Politics got pushed aside…..and for a time, we were ONE….united in our grief.
It is no wonder that my youngest goes to leep to “God Bless the USA” and the Marines Hymn….the entire time I was pregnant with her, that is what she heard.

now, I want to know…..where were you?

Leave a Reply

